IOP Conferences

Photon10 Optics and Photonics


This is the biennial conference of the Optics and Photonics Division (formerly the Applied Optics Division) that brings together researchers in the fields of the Optical, Materials and Characterisation, Instrument Science and Technology groups.

Full list of confirmed invited speakers

The programme will include focused sessions on:

  • Advances in imaging
  • Advances in terahertz technology *
  • Biophotonics *
  • Computational photonics
  • Diffractive optics
  • Fibre optics and waveguides
  • Fibre optic sensors
  • Fringe Analysis Special Interest Group (FASIG)
  • Laser physics
  • Non-linear optics
  • Optical and quantum metrology *
  • Optical diagnostic engineering
  • Optical environmental sensing
  • Optical tweezing and micro-manipulation
  • Optics and microfluidics
  • Polarisation optics
  • Singular optics and vortices *
  • X-ray and UV optics


* denotes joint sessions

Optics and Photonics 2010 will also encompass sessions of the Fringe Analysis Special Interest Group (FASIG), which is devoted to the latest innovations in interferometry, photomechanics and optical metrology including their applications.

Papers describing research in the following areas are particularly encouraged:

  • new measurement and analysis techniques
  • phase shifting and phase unwrapping
  • high-speed measurements on solids and fluids
  • micromeasurement techniques and applications
  • shape measurement and 3D machine vision
  • optical coherence tomography in biomechanics and engineering
  • phase-contrast tomographic methods
  • phase-contrast microscopy
  • digital holography
  • optical diffraction tomography


Photon10 OPD Organising Committee

Chair – Dave Towers, University of Leeds
Stephen Morgan, University of Nottingham
Andy Harvey, Heriot-Watt University
Gail McConnell, University of Strathclyde
Mark Neil, Imperial College
Gordon Love, Durham University
David McGloin, University of Dundee
Mark Dennis, University of Bristol
Martin Booth, Oxford University
Ralph Tatam, Cranfield University
Patricia Scully, University of Manchester
Andy Augousti, Kingston University
Peter Doel, University College London
Peter Hodgson, Corus Group
Alex Cunningham, University of Strathclyde
Thangavel Thevar, University of Aberdeen
Hugh Mortimer, Science & Technology Facilities Council
Krikor Ozanyan, University of Manchester
Pablo Ruiz, University of Loughborough
Marc Molinari, University of Southampton

^ To the top ^