IOP Conferences

Plenary and invited speakers

We are delighted to announce the following plenary speakers for Photon10:

Mr Frederic Quan (President, Optoelectronics Industry Development Association (OIDA), USA)
"Green Photonics"

In 1974 Mr. Quan joined Corning Incorporated where he played a critical role pioneering the budding fiber optics industry. Mr. Quan started the specialty fiber business for Corning and was solely responsible for Corning's government contracts business.
In recent years, Mr. Quan has been instrumental in establishing several industry groups including the IDCC and the GMIC to enhance partnerships and further collaborative projects between major industrial companies and government agencies.

Professor Nikolay Zheludev (University of Southampton, UK)
"Nanostructured Metamaterials as a Platform for Photonic Devices"

Nikolay Zheludev, PhD, DSc is Professor of Physics at the University of Southampton (UK). He is Deputy Director (Physics) of the Optoelectronics Research Centre, University of Southampton and coordinates the EPSRC Portfolio Centre on Nanophotonics. He is the Editor-in Chief of Journal of Optics (IOP Publishing).

Professor Colin Webb (Oxford Lasers, UK)
"The Birth of the Laser"

Until his retirement in 2002, Colin Webb was Professor of Laser Physics at the University of Oxford. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics and of the Optical Society of America serving as Director-at-Large from 1991-1994. In 1991 he was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of London, and in 1997 as the first President of the UK Consortium for Photonics and Optics (UKCPO), a post which he held until 2002. In January 2000 he was awarded an MBE for services to the UK Laser Industry.

Professor Ken Grattan (City University London, UK)
OPD Divisional Prize Winner
“New development for Structural Health Monitoring uisng optical fiber sensors”

Professor Grattan is a Professor of Measurement and Instrumentation and Head of the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Information Engineering at City University. He was awarded the Callendar Medal of the Institute of Measurement and Control and the Honeywell Prize for work published in the Institute’s journal. He is the Deputy Editor of the Journal Measurement Science and Technology and Editor of the IMEKO Journal “Measurement”.

QEP-19 Invited Speakers 

Associate Professor Lene Oddershede (The Niels Bohr Institute, Denmark)
“Direct measurements of heating associated with optical manipulation of individual metallic nanoparticles”

Dr Gary Wiederrecht (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
“Nanoscale imaging and ultrafast optical processes in hybrid plasmonic nanostructures”

Professor Anne Tropper (University of Southampton, UK)
“Ultrashort pulses from semiconductor lasers”

Dr John Cunningham (University of Leeds, UK)
“On-chip THz pulse”

Professor Ulf Leonhardt (University of St Andrews, UK)
“Non-Euclidean transformation optics”

Professor Andrea Fiore (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)
“Electrical control of spontaneous emission in photonic crystal cavities”

Professor Grover Swartzlander (Rochester Institute of Technology, USA)
“Vortices in Nature, Particularly Optics”

Professor Monika Ritsch-Marte (Innsbruck Medical University, Austria)
"Wavefront shaping for new microscopy techniques"

Professor Jeremy Baumberg (University of Cambridge, UK)
“Elastic photonic crystals: nano-assembly and functionality on km-scales”

Professor. Dr. Achim Hartschuh (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen, Germany)
"High-resolution near-field optical microscopy of single nanostructures"

Dr Terry Rudolph (Imperial College London, UK)
“Photonic Quantum Computation”

Professor Ian Walmsley (University of Oxford, UK)
"Coherent control of decoherence: learning about what's going on while doing something about it"

Professor Thomas F Krauss (St Andrews University, Scotland, UK)
"Slow light enhanced nonlinear optics in photonic crystal waveguides

Dr Thomas Fernholz (University of Nottingham, UK)
"Storing an alphabet of two-mode squeezed states"

OPD Invited Speakers

Dr Jochen Guck (Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge University, UK)
“Dual-beam laser traps in biology and medicine - why one beam is not enough”

Professor Dieter Braun (Ludwig-Maximilians University, Münich, Germany)
“Trapping DNA Oligos using optically driven microflow”

Professor Jeremy Coupland (Loughborough University, UK)
“A new look at 3D optical metrology”

Professor Joshua Silver (University of Oxford, UK)
"Can we use an adaptive optical approach to bring inexpensive corrective eyewear to half the world's population?"

Doz. Dr.-Ing. Habil. Dietrich Schweitzer (Experimental Ophthalmology University of Jena Bachstr, Germany)
"Reflectometry and time-resolved autofluorescence-methods for investigation of metabolism in the eye"

Dr David Lara (Imperial College London, UK)
"Vectorial Polarimetry: a far field microscopy method to characterise 3D EM fields"

Professor David Brady (Duke University, USA)
“Terapixel Imaging”

Dr Marco Petrovich (University of Southampton, UK)
"Novel Microstructured Fibres for optical sensing of gases"

Dr Tim Wilkinson (University of Cambridge, UK)
"Liquid Crystal Nanophotonic Technology"

Dr Rod Robinson (National Physical Laboratory, UK)
"The development and application of Differential Absorption Lidar for GHG and industrial emissions monitoring"

Professor Steven Johnson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
"Combining Computation With Analysis: The Universality of Resonance"

Dr John Black (University of Manchester)
"New Laser Sources for Engineering Optical Diagnostics"

Professor Nick Goddard (University of Manchester, UK)
"Optical Leaky Waveguides as Chemo- and Bio-sensors"

Dr Stephen James (Cranfield University, UK)
"Fibre Optic Long Period Grating Sensors with Nanoscale Coatings"

Professor Mike Somekh (University of Nottingham, UK)
"Understanding surface plasmon imaging: results and prospects"

Professor Juan Campos (Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona, Spain)
"Characterization of Liquid Crystal on Silicon displays and its use in diffractive optics"

Joint OPD/QEP Invited Speakers

Dr Alastair Sinclair (National Physical Laboratory, UK)
"Quantum Metrology with Atoms and Photons"

Professor Fil Bartoli, Lehigh University, Pennsylvania (USA)
“Broadband Trapping of Light through Nanoplasmonics”

Tutorial Speakers

Professor Donal Bradley (Imperial College, UK)
“Organic Photonics”

Professor Allan Boardman (University of Salford, UK)
“Gentle Introduction to Cloaking”

Martyn Chamberlain (University of Durham, UK)
"TeraHertz in Society"

^ To the top ^