IOP Conferences

QEP-19 conference


This is the 19th meeting of the series of conferences organised by the Quantum Electronics Group of the Institute of Physics.  The conference is part of the Photon10 event which will be held on the Southampton University campus on August 23 - 26 2010.  The conference especially encourages presentations from PhD students, and a number of prizes will be available.  

Full list of confirmed invited speakers

The programme will include focused sessions on:

  • Advances in laser science
  • Advances in terahertz technology *
  • Atom-photon interactions
  • Biophotonics *
  • Metamaterials and cloaking
  • Nanophotonics and plasmonics
  • Optical and quantum metrology *
  • Quantum coherent control
  • Quantum dots
  • Quantum information
  • Quantum optics
  • Silicon and carbon photonics
  • Singular optics and vortices *
  • Slow light
  • Structured optical materials
  • Trapping and manipulation
  • Nonlinear optics


 * denotes joint sessions

QEP-19 is supported by the IOP Quantum Optics, Quantum Information and Quantum Control (QQQ) and Semiconductor Physics Groups.

QEP-19 Committee 

Terence Shepherd – Chair (QinetiQ)
Claire Bedrock – Deputy Chair (IOP Publishing)
Dave Binks (University of Manchester)
Peter Blood (Cardiff University)
Gerald Buller (Heriot-Watt University)
Allan Boardman (University of Salford)
Paola Borri (Cardiff University)
Martin Dawson (University of Strathclyde)
Kishan Dholakia (University of St Andrews)
Andrei Ferrari (University of Cambridge)
Mark Fromhold (University of Nottingham)
Jochen Guck (University of Cambridge)
Paul Harrison (University of Leeds)
Ortwin Hess (University of Surrey)
Myungshik Kim (The Queen's University of Belfast)
Leslie Laycock (BAE Systems)
Martin McCall (Imperial College London)
Kevin MacDonald (Southampton University)
Ray Murray (Imperial College)
Miles Padgett (University of Glasgow)
John Rarity (University of Bristol)
Dimity Skryabin (University of Bath)
Peter Smowton (Cardiff University)
Ben Whitaker (University of Leeds)
Anatoly Zayats (The Queen's University of Belfast)

^ To the top ^